Infernal Relics First Play Notes

Sentinels of the Multiverse: The Video Game cover, with the core Sentinels arrayed in a shallow V.In the first evening of play with the Infernal Relics characters for Sentinels of the Multiverse, I am reinvigorated. Most of my attention went to puzzling out the Argent Adept’s music and instruments, so I mostly played in safe spaces, like Grand Warlord Voss in Silver Gulch. Minimal ongoing destruction allowed for experimentation and getting as many of the Adept’s pieces into play as possible. I haven’t figured out the full loop of his instruments yet, but I did start exploring sequences, like using the lyre to trigger Inspiring Supertonic, granting a power use to trigger Vocalize to trigger another perform text, and so on. As much as I want to figure this out on my own — and probably should pull out the cards to make it visual — I wouldn’t mind someone dropping a flow chart in my lap, either.

Gloomweaver proved manageable, as long as I spammed the Wraith’s Infrared Eyepiece, or Visionary looked ahead. Akash’bhuta got me the first time, though I’ll attribute that to a team heavy with support characters and minimal damage dealers. I did get her in the end by going with a line-up I’m much more comfortable with, plus Argent Adept. Getting to use other characters’ powers or play their cards on demand at the end of the round, to bat clean-up on any lingering worries is really useful. In the past, I’ve set the Wraith in that position, as she’s so versatile in handling various challenges. Now I can see the Argent Adept easily replacing her there in the lineup.

There’s still more to explore with the Argent Adept, but I want to give an evening to Nightmist next. She seems a bit like Absolute Zero, damaging herself to gain a benefit. And I’m curious to figure out if she has any ability to control the card on top of her deck when it comes to reveal them for magic number values.

Leave a Reply

