Little Free (Game) Libraries

A little free library, shaped like a miniature house filled with books, mounted on a post.

By John Phelan (Own work) [CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

In the wake of the Carnage math trade results, I am keeping the change ball rolling by weeding out my library of board games and role-playing books. In the past, I’ve tried sales and sale/swap game forums, and had mixed results. The legwork involved in listing and shipping rarely seems to merit the cash return, particularly now that the more salable titles have all found homes. So now, in the interest of Less Stuff, I’ve begun filtering out the games and books I don’t want anymore to Burlington’s little free libraries.

Due to locations, a little discretion goes into what is seeded where. Leaving Chez Geek by a children’s playground seems like it would be poor form. Fortunately, there are at least four little free libraries within my walking radius, so everything can be evenly distributed. And it’ll get me outside walking more, which can only be a plus.

6 thoughts on “Little Free (Game) Libraries

  1. I love this idea. I have a ton of books I want to part with, but the idea of listing, shipping and tracking sales on eBay seems like a ton of work. Perhaps I, too, could find some kind of library here in LA.

  2. Pingback: I’m the Only Nerd in the Office Yankee Swap | Held Action

Leave a Reply

