#RPGaDAY 31: Favorite RPG of All Time

#RPGaDAY prompts.

The #RPGaDAY prompt was concocted by Dave Chapman of Autocratik. Grab the list and join in!

Dave Chapman tasks me. Oh, how he tasks me. Over the course of #RPGaDAY, the topics have circled around the idea of favorite a lot. Different flavors of favorite — rarest, never get to play, favorite rules — but generally the idea that one candidate wins the title. And I’ve found that the same names pop up again and again when I consider what I will nominate: Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Mage: the Ascension, Ghostbusters and the other usual suspects you’ll find figuring prominently in the Held Action tag cloud.

While that’s fine, I’ve generally tried to make my picks more varied than calling out the same names over and over again. Finding that variety has also reminded me how many different games I like. I don’t know if I could pick a single favorite role-playing game from among them, and I don’t know that I want to. They all achieve something a little bit different, which I’ll admit when I’m not in the mood of denying that rules matter and insisting that by and large, whatever rules you prefer will do just fine, regardless of the officiality of an adaptation.

So how do I choose? The game I want to play the most? The one I see myself running the most? The one that brings me the most actual, real fun, as opposed to dwelling on the fun I could have if I ever got around to making it happen? The favorite premise? The favorite rules to support a premise? Hell, I can’t decide. Let’s just go with the obvious choice:

Ghostbusters RPG box cover.You’re all astonished. I can tell.

The format of a team of coworkers from various backgrounds being assigned problems has just the right mix of structure and flexibility to make it playable, in one form or another, for many, many years. Ghosts have haunted humans for almost as long as there have been humans, so you can flash back and forth along the timeline to any time in history when spiritual turbulence is on the rise. A 1920s campaign frame focusing on the restless dead of the Great War and the aftershocks of such carnage among the living has a lot of promise. It’s archetypal. It’s extensible. It’s timeless. Ghostbusters will always be my favorite, I guess.

3 thoughts on “#RPGaDAY 31: Favorite RPG of All Time

  1. I agree with the sentiment that it’s hard to pock just one to be the favorite. You’re selection makes sense, knowing you as I do. And let me know when you pull together that 1920s game; that’s a very cool premise.

  2. Pingback: #RPGaDAY Round Up | Held Action

Leave a Reply

