#RPGaDAY 28: Scariest Game You’ve Played

#RPGaDAY prompts.

The #RPGaDAY prompt was concocted by Dave Chapman of Autocratik. Grab the list and join in!

The scariest role-playing game I ever partook in was not scary due to the adventure or other prepared material. Rather, it was the use of lights, music and sound effects that got me during the adventure’s climax. The GM did an excellent job of using rhythm and dissonance to get the heart pounding and me feeling off-kilter.

Once was enough for that sort of thing.

3 thoughts on “#RPGaDAY 28: Scariest Game You’ve Played

  1. I’m generally not a Horror fan, so I tend not to play too many scary RPGs. I think the Wake of the Watcher adventure in Carrion Crown was the creepiest game I’ve played. If Hunter had used more atmospherics, I could have been downright scary.

    • For all that I talk about and seem to like horror games, what I’m really looking for is the comforting remove of pastiche and deconstruction you’d find in an episode of Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

  2. Pingback: #RPGaDAY Round Up | Held Action

Leave a Reply

