The Beast is Dead

George R. R. Martin implies he’s finished A Dance with Dragons.

To put that in a personal context for myself, the first novel, A Game of Thrones, published just before I began my freshman year of high school. The most recent volume, A Feast for Crows, came out in 2005. That was the first year I attended Carnage. The book hit the week before the convention.

In fact, I saw Feast for Crows at Carnage. We were playing a GURPS Banestorm adventure when Chuck strolled up and handed one of the players a copy. She squeed a bit. I think that was the first time I encountered the series at all.

4 thoughts on “The Beast is Dead

  1. I hope so! I was beginning to think it was going to end up one of those tragically unfinished works, the way Coleridge lost the thread of Khubla Khan after a visitor from Porlock, or the way Lucas never got around to making Star Wars eps 1 through 3 (in my edited version of the universe). Over the past 6 years, George R. R. Martin must have been interrupted by quite a steady stream of persons from Porlock.

    • Sometimes the visitors are helpful. If he felt stuck on the manuscript, he went off and did something else to clear his head — or so I suppose.

  2. I worked at an independent bookstore from ’06 to ’08, and then a chain store ’08 to ’09. I love that Martin listed (with publishers and retailers) the publication date for Dances as 2013, and was pretty open about that being a reaction to everyone demanding he finish it.

    Hope it lives up to the wait, though I held off reading the other books for as long as possible to avoid boarding the boat so many fans have been drifting along in since ’05.

    • I love that Martin listed (with publishers and retailers) the publication date for Dances as 2013, and was pretty open about that being a reaction to everyone demanding he finish it.

      That reminds me of Neil Gaiman’s infamous reply “[George R. R. Martin] is not your bitch” to someone asking him about the length of time taken in writing Dance with Dragons.

      I’ve been curiously sanguine about the cliffhanger of the series. I only read the books a couple years ago, but crammed them down in short order. I think the time away from Westeros has been good for me. I was pretty fatigued about the whole thing as I slogged through Feast for Crows.

Leave a Reply

