Masks of Nyarlathotep Session 1

Last week, I got in on the ground floor of the sprawling Masks of Nyarlathotep campaign. Previously, the group had played through a couple one-off scenarios, but I wasn’t able to make the scheduling line up properly. So I was glad to be able to skate in at the last minute with the rough notion of a Great War veteran turned barnstorming pilot, who eventually became named Jake Spadowski.

I’m embarrassed to admit I suffered some sort of systems crash shortly after we started playing. I don’t know if it was a lack of food or a surfeit of unhealthy, pizza-related food, but it pretty much did me in for the evening. In combination with my usual reticent nature when first role-playing with a group and a brand new, hazily sketched-out notion of a character and I wound up not having much to contribute to the action.

Happily, Dan’s German professor carried the evening ably. Someone’s bestest friend ever died, there was a brief interplay with the perpetrators, we followed business cards and receipts and all that fun stuff.

That’s about all I have to report for the evening. Sad, isn’t it?

Next time my brain shuts down like that, I hope I have the presence of mind to get up and walk around the room for a bit, rather than slowly sliding down the couch in a drowsy heap. That can’t have been a good first impression.

Leave a Reply

