On the Road to Raise Up the Ancient One

Here’s a quickie one-shot notion for you: a group of lifelong friends hop in the car to drive cross-country. They’re on the road to experience the event of a lifetime: their cult’s raising of an ancient one from the vasty deep of time and space.

Plot points of interest might include:

  • Racing fellow cultists from a rival lodge, competing to be the sacrificial offering that clinches the ceremony.
  • Staying ahead of the scattered agents of the Brotherhood of Argus, meddling do-gooders sworn to block the advances of the player character’s beloved ancient master.
  • Resisting the temptation of mutual deflowerment, making one unsuitable for sacrifice.
  • Living up to the expectations of one’s father or mother, a leading figure in the global cult organization.
  • Juggling the duties of the cult with one’s uninitiated significant other.

My friend Joe characterized it as a Call of Cthulhu / Ribbon Drive crossover. I couldn’t comment.

5 thoughts on “On the Road to Raise Up the Ancient One

    • Why can’t it be both?

      If I ever hit on the right mix of ideas and materials to make it happen, I’ll be sure to CC you on that email — or you can run it yourself.

  1. I got to say, I though you were going for Ribbon Drive myself for a minute. Truly great game that. Still, I like the way you think. That would make a hell of a nice Fudge game for good roleplayers.

  2. On the road again
    Just can’t wait to get on the road again.
    The life I’ll lose in raising Ancients with my friends
    And I can’t wait to get on the road again.

    On the road again
    Goin’ places that have never been.
    Seein’ things that I may never see again
    And I can’t wait to get on the road again.

    On the road again
    Like a band of cultists we go down the highway
    We’re the best of friends.
    Insisting that the Ancients return some day.

    And our way
    is on the road again.
    Just can’t wait to get on the road again.
    This life is lost to raisin’ Ancients with my friends
    And I can’t wait to get on the road again.

    On the road again
    Like a band of custists we go down the highway
    We’re the best of friends
    Insisting that we call the Elders our way

    And our way
    is on the road again.
    Just can’t wait to get on the road again.
    My life for them because the Ancients are my friends

    And I can’t wait to get on the road again.
    Ia! I can’t wait to get on the road again.
    I just can’t wait to see R’lyeh again

Leave a Reply

