Making 2011 a Good Role-Playing Year

It’s been a while since I had a year where I felt like I had a lot of fun with role-playing games. 2010 was particularly bitter because of a couple fitful starts that never launched into sustained play, a la Broken Spokes or visiting the local Pathfinder Society. In comparison to years where I just didn’t get to role-play, that stings more. I want to do it, the elements are there, but they just don’t gel properly. And I beat myself up over because I think I didn’t try hard to make it work or spread the net wide enough to find the right people.

Certainly, I got to role-play in 2010, at Carnage, Totalcon and Fall-loha, as well as the sporadic local campaign Fate and Solace. So I’m not trying to say, “Boo hoo, my life of devoid of RPGs.” More that I know what I want in an ongoing campaign and I want that regularly and consistently.

So my goal for 2011 is going to be creating the game that engages and excites me to plan for and participate in. And it’s going to happen regularly and frequently.

I’ll post more as it happens, of course.

4 thoughts on “Making 2011 a Good Role-Playing Year

  1. Pingback: [RPG Blog Carnival] New Year, New Game « Held Action

  2. Pingback: [Scions of Time] Pilot « Held Action

Leave a Reply

