Fate and Solace

A couple months ago, I joined an ongoing role-playing campaign. We met once in August, then just had our first meeting since a Sunday or two ago. It’s set in a world the GM devised, running with a slightly modified version of the Savage Worlds rules, plus what seem like magic systems of his own devising.

I feel a little like I’m seeing how the other half lives — the half that actually plays role-playing games on a periodic basis, rather than just writing about them and thinking wistfully in between game days and conventions. Getting it all to work is even rougher than I remember. Remember I said I first played with the group in August? We didn’t get together again until mid-November.

In the intervening time, everything about the game fell out of my head. I spent that August session mostly getting my bearings. There were a lot of proper nouns flung around the table: player characters, non-player characters, places, things, deities and so on. All that fell out of my head after the session ended. So I took diligent notes in the second session. Writing things down helps me remember them without even having to check the paper. I think I’ve got it all straight now.

As one of those unfortunate souls who’s done far more talking and thinking about role-playing games than I have playing, it’s disconcerting to see how other people play or run a game. Because it never matches up with one’s imaginings. Right now I’m on the side of biting my tongue because I don’t know enough about the group dynamics to understand what’s open to commentary or discussion.

Tomorrow’s the next session. The characters found themselves in a hard spot, as often happens. The form of a decision point looms up ahead. I have a very good idea of who’s going to fall on either side of the decision, assuming I understand everyone’s backgrounds correctly. We’ll see how it plays out.

4 thoughts on “Fate and Solace

  1. It’s hard to go so long between sessions. Like any hobby, I think gaming needs momentum so that you can fall into a routine. This is especially so with new characters. You need to play him or her a lot in order to get a feel for their personality.

    What are some of the issues you see with the group dynamic?

    • The number one thing is recognizing when it’s okay to crack a joke. I tend to make a lot of off the cuff remarks and snark, some funnier than others, but almost all completely irrelevant. That’s kind of an issue with this bunch, as they stay in character deeper and longer than I am used to.

  2. Pingback: Food for Thought – Articles, Posts, and Other Things Around The Net | Moebius Adventures

  3. Pingback: Making 2011 a Good Role-Playing Year « Held Action

Leave a Reply

