Adventuring Adventurers of Adventure

I didn’t think this GURPS Cabal adventure would capture my imagination like it did. I got in two and a half good hours of writing last night at Muddy Waters, scribbling down initial thoughts and setting details. That flip through the book last week not only refreshed my memory, but somehow got my brain willing to play with the Cabal setting in a way it didn’t want to back in the summer of . . . 2006?

Conversely, I’m having a harder time thinking about the Ghostbusters adventure. I thought I had a solid premise that tied in nicely with this year’s theme at Carnage, but either I’m not feeling it, or my brain’s just more interested in Cabal at the moment. And I can’t fault it; doing something substantive with Cabal has been a goal since I swiped a character or two for Mage: The Suppressed Transmission. I think I need to take a similar dive into the source material for Ghostbusters. Not the movie; I’ve got that memorized. I’m talking about the original box set from West End Games. They got something very, very right with that game and its presentation. Always go back to the source when you need rejuvenation.

Speaking of going back to the source, I pulled the chocks out from my notion of running an old school dungeon crawl for International Traditional Gaming Week. I have four interested players, a system by the name of Labyrinth Lord and the castle of a certain mad archmage. This should be good.

Reading Labyrinth Lord is weird, though. I came to role-playing games post-third edition of Dungeons & Dragons. The differences between that version of the game and the one Labyrinth Lord emulates are staggering. Ten minute turns when poking around the dungeon? Random encounters being built in to the GM’s plans? And the old chestnut of races as classes? What madness is this?

3 thoughts on “Adventuring Adventurers of Adventure

  1. As a GM I loved running Labyrinth Lord. It was simple and easy to manage. My players weren’t so into it. They had a lot of fun, but when we wrapped things up, they stated a preference for D&D 3.5 with its character options, skills, feats, etc. I didn’t see that one coming. I thought they liked the simplicity as much as I did. Oh well. 🙂

    • So . . . what’s the deal with equipment in Labyrinth Lord? I haven’t looked at the gear section yet, but I’m wondering if there’s a rule of thumb of what to give freshly generated fourth level characters.

      • . . . And since that comment I have been reminded that Labyrinth Lord characters are better gauged by XP than level. I have clearly forgotten the lessons learned from Baldur’s Gate.

Leave a Reply

