Time Taken Off from the Hobby Gives Perspective

The last week has been a gaming sabbatical for me. At least, that’s what I intended and sort of achieved. The easy part was skipping Tuesday night board games. Where the sabbatical fell down was I wanted to begin getting my mental notes written out for the Actual Play Friday reports of games I ran at Carnage. But I didn’t do much beyond that. I certainly didn’t play anything.

So why did I choose to take a little time off from games? In all honesty, I burned myself out running too many games at Carnage. The hoarse voice was one indicator of too much rules explaining and occasionally debating interpretations of the rules. The big signal, though, was mental. On the drive back from Fairlee, I was so relieved that I wouldn’t have to teach any rules or cajole players for almost an entire week.

There comes a point, I have discovered, when I get sick to the gills of going through the same routines of explaining actions versus buys in Dominion, or the niceties of cross-time travel in GURPS Infinite Worlds or the distinction between a Boon and a Treasure in Dungeoneer. I just want to play the game without walking the latest newcomer through it all.

Fortunately, that’s a fleeting complaint and I’m almost back to normal. At the very least, I’m already finding sources of inspiration for the next roleplaying adventure I write — like the recent discovery of the remains of an ancient Persian army lost in the desert. And I’m getting the itch to do more organizational stuff, like getting a monthly game event at the Fletcher moving forward and putting on another game convention somewhere in Vermont.

With luck, I may even get to play in a roleplaying campaign sometime in the next couple months, depending how friends’ holiday commitments shake out. The time after Carnage into the new year is traditionally rough for regular game-related get-togethers, because of all the holidays and year-end doings. Fingers crossed, though, because it sounds like it would be an Earthdawn game, which I’ve always been interested in trying.

4 thoughts on “Time Taken Off from the Hobby Gives Perspective

  1. I took a major game sabbatical around 2001. I took almost 8 years off!

    a gamer since I was a kid in the late 70’s, I went strong through the 80’s and 90’s. I didn’t go to cons or hang out at game shops as an adult, and always managed to get a nifty, full group together out of people I knew and friends of friends. Ahhh, nothing like a hand-picked group.

    In the 90’s it was tons of AD&D, Champions, and Call of Cthulhu. Great, long campaigns. But by the new century, my group had petered out. I just sort of game up trying to get a group together. Then last year, through nudging of a new friend, I started a new group, and currently going strong at 6 players and a 5-player waiting list wanting in on it.

    That several year break did give me a new perspective, and makes me appreciate having the group even more than before. I have this new feeling of “it could be over at any time,” so I sort of go for the gusto now, so to speak. Get as much juice as I can out of it.

    • Honestly, I’ve burnt out on trying to get a campaign going. I just met someone last night who’s interested in getting a game going and I don’t have nearly the enthusiasm for it that I once would have. I’ve racked up too many one session wonders to invest myself in just the possibility of a game.

Leave a Reply

