Highway to Niflheim Update

I have to confess that I have fallen behind on the Highway to Niflheim adventure. My original plan was to have the characters and adventure notes together in time for a playtest session in early October. A confluence of factors, including my day job kicking back into gear and a desire to spend my time elsewhere than bent over a keyboard at home or at Muddy Waters, put a drain on my energy to move this project forward.

The last week of September, I tried to force the issue by setting a date and getting people on board to play. I allowed inertia and poor time management to make that impractical. Last night, October 14th, was the first time I made any real progress on Highway to Niflheim and that was just flipping through my notebook and adding one idea to the list. Then I let myself get distracted learning rules to a card game.

If it sounds like I’m flagellating myself gratuitously, I’m not trying to, honest. I’d rather be upfront about my choices and processes in journaling this project’s development than pretend otherwise. So, because I like lists, here’s one showing what left I have to do before Carnage, which is the first weekend of November:

  1. Write the sixth player character background. This is where I got stumped at my last big writing session mid-September.
  2. Finish statting out the player characters. I’ve only got two or three sheets made up. This should be the easy part, because there are so many templates available in GURPS Infinite Worlds, but I find myself second-guessing how similar all the PCs will seem. It makes sense, because the Infinity Patrol accepts people who fit a type, but my method as an adventure writer is to work toward a disparate but interlocking group of characters.
  3. Flesh out NPCs. Over these weeks of dormancy, I’ve had a few good flashes of inspiration to fill out the adventure and make the St. Lawrence River valley of Midgard seem more populated. One in particular is the thought I had last night, which I’m not sure is awesome or just distracting.
  4. Develop locations and the default sequence of events. This is that time line I wrote about while working on the Ghostbusters adventure. It’ll never unfold the way it’s written once the PCs start doing things, but it gives me a reference point from which to kick off and react to their choices.

It’s totally do-able before Carnage. I just gotta get through this weekend and then down to business.

Leave a Reply

