Mutants & Masterminds 3rd Edition System Reference Document

One mighty-thewed soul, John Reyst, has assembled the open content from the third edition of Green Ronin’s Mutants & Masterminds role-playing game into a hyper-linked web site.

And it’s attractively marked up, to boot. Seriously, this is a slick-looking  rendition, all cool colors and rounded corners. I had no idea one could do that with a Google Site.

When the third edition of Mutants & Masterminds hit the market in the wake of the licensed implementation as DC Adventures, I opted to give it a pass because of three things:

  1. I didn’t see myself returning to the superhero genre in the immediate future.
  2. My gaming purchases have dwindled and I wasn’t prepared to lay out for a book I didn’t know I wanted to own.
  3. The changes and new material being discussed by early adopters didn’t appeal, as I was honestly happy with the relative complexity of second edition Mutants & Masterminds — occasionally overwhelmed, I admit, but generally happy to have a system on which to fall back.

Now with the SRD, I can click around, browse the material and evaluate the touted changes on my own time at a very appealing time and money cost.1


1 I’m much happier reading rules content for free on a computer than I am paying to read the same. Go figure.

2 thoughts on “Mutants & Masterminds 3rd Edition System Reference Document

  1. Hey thanks for the kind words! I’ve been hard at work on this one and I hope it convinces those who were or are unsure about the coolness of Mutants and Masterminds to actually give it a shot and then if you like it enough, throw some cash over to Green Ronin so they can keep making more cool stuff like this. Anyway, thanks for the mention and please feel free to send me any comments, critiques or suggestions. As should be obvious its still not 100% complete but I get a little closer every day.

Leave a Reply

